Frontend Engineer Interview Experience At Tekion Corp

ยท

3 min read

Hello Folks ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿ‘‹, I hope you're doing extremely great. I'm Sai Deepesh, currently working as a Frontend Engineer at Labra.

This was supposed to be published alongside my other interview experience at ZestMoney, Fynd, but I've been procrastinating this for a long time now ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…, so finally, I took some time to write this down ๐Ÿ’ช.

How It Started:

Amidst my preparation, giving interviews and failing ๐Ÿ˜ญ in late Nov 2021 and early Dec 2021, I randomly saw this job posting at Tekion for Associate Software Engineer - Frontend (Associate Software Engineer at Tekion will be applicable for 0-2 years exp candidates) and I went ahead and applied.

After a couple of weeks i.e at the end of Dec 2021 recruiter reached out to me and we discussed the role, she asked me about my experience, years of experience, expected salary and all. Post that, she schedule 1st round of interviews which was taken by a third-party company. Some sign of relief ๐Ÿ˜Œ

I don't know why, but I've only given 2 rounds of interviews excluding salary discussion for this role.

Round 1: Covered almost all topics i.e, DSA, JS, Web fundamentals, Machine Coding

  • Some simple JS output based questions like Closures, Async APIs, Hoisting, etc
  • Problem solving in JS: implement deepCopy()
  • DSA - two sum problem with and without a sorted array
  • Machine Coding - implement a basic react app to fetch and display from external API, follow questions were to add some features like searching, filtering, etc

I would say it was an easy/medium level interview for me, one should be able to solve these questions pretty easily if the fundaments are strong.

Round 2: HM Round

After a couple of days, the recruiter reached out and confirmed that I cleared my first round ๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿฅณ and then she scheduled my second round which was a hiring manager round.

To my surprise ๐Ÿคฏ, this interview was full of machine coding with react. He asked me to build a matching pair of cards game, it was something like, we have to select one card and another random card, and if both are the same you have to keep them in an open state otherwise both of them should be closed, this was the requirement.

I could able to solve it under the timeframe and suddenly he asked about my salary expectations(It was weird to me because I haven't seen any HM asking about salary expectations).

I've put my expectations and informed him about my other competing offers.

Result:

On the same day of the second interview, the recruiter reached out and confirmed that I've cleared the interview and they're moving forward to the salary discussion round ๐Ÿฅณ ๐Ÿค‘.

After a week or so they have scheduled another round with the lead HR where she explained about salary structure, ESOPS, benefits, etc.

They've given me 5 days to accept or reject the offer, as I have another better offer I politely rejected them โŒ.

Closing Thoughts:

I hope someone can find some value out of this interview experience and I wish y'all all the best for the hustle ๐Ÿ™Œ. Feel free to reach out to me on Twitter if you have any sort of queries.

Thank you.

ย